Interest Rate Linked Notes

>
>
Interest Rate Linked Notes

Most interest rate-linked products are principal-protected structured products. The index interest rate is based on the interest rates of domestic and foreign currencies. The product payoff mainly depends on the product structure and interest rate trends. Mostly the operating strategy of interest rate-linked product is to exchange and trade in the money market and interest rate market. Its structure is characterized by stable but not high returns and a long investment period, which is suitable for medium and long-term investors. Common related interest rates are as follows:

  • Interbank Offered Rate is a universal reference rate for lenders and bond issuers worldwide. It is also one of the most important and common market benchmark interest rates. Depending on the currency of the structured product, the interest rate can also be divided into those major interbank rates such as USD, Libor, EUR Libor, Hibor, or BSSW.
  • Constant Maturity Swap (CMS) is varied with regular interest rate swap. Common reference rates are CMS 10y, CMS 2y, CMS 30y, or the spread of interest rate swaps with different years as indicators.

Common Assets
Related Products
Interbank interest rate and constant maturity swap rates
Interest rate-linked notes, interest rate range accrual note

Precautions

Investors need to pay attention to the structure of the product and the risk of interest rate movement.

Main Risks

There are many types and forms of structured products. Investors should beware the following investment risks, including but not limited to:

  • Credit risk: The credit risk of the issuer or guarantor of a structured product. When the issuer or guarantor goes bankrupt or fails, even if it is a principal-protected product, the investment principal will still cause losses;
  • Liquidity risk: Structured products generally do not provide a secondary market. Due to the lack of a secondary market, investors cannot sell contracts before maturity. Therefore, investors can only enter into liquidation / unwinding transactions with the issuer, the price is determined by the issuer, and the transparency is low.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

利率掛鈎票據

>
>
利率掛鈎票據

利率掛鈎型產品大多屬於保本結構性產品,指標利率則以為國內外貨幣的利率掛鈎,產品的收益亦取決於產品結構和利率走勢。 利率掛鈎型主要操作策略為在貨幣市場和利率市場上進行交換和交易。其結構的特點是收益穩定但不高,投資期較長,適合中長期投資者。常見的相關利率如下:

  • 銀行同業拆放利率是全球貸款方及債券發行人的普遍參考利率,亦是最重要的和最常見的市場基準利率之一,按結構性產品的計價幣別不同,利率亦可分為USD Libor、EUR Libor、Hibor 或BSSW等主要銀行同業拆放利率。
  • 固定期限交換利率(Constant Maturity Swap,CMS)是一常規的利率掉期變化。常見參考利率有CMS 10y、CMS 2y、CMS 30y 或以不同年期的利率掉期之價差作為指標。

類別
常見指定資產種類
相關產品
利率掛鈎
與銀行同業拆放利率、固定期限交換交易利率
利率掛鈎票據、利率區間型票據

注意事項

投資者需注意產品的結構,並需要面對利率變化的風險

主要風險

結構性產品的種類及形式眾多,投資者需承擔包括但不僅限於下列的投資風險:

  • 信用風險:結構性產品的發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉時,即使是保本型產品,投資本金仍會產生損失
  • 流動性風險:結構性產品一般不提供二手市場,由於缺乏二手市場,投資者不能於到期前沽出合約。所以,投資者只能跟發行商進平倉/沖銷交易,價格由發行商釐定,透明度低

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart